Violet Handspun Yarn

This yarn was spun from organic Merino wool that I hand-dyed in shades of blue and purple and then carded with some milk fibre and firestar (nylon sparkle) on my drum carder.

On the drum carder

I just recently acquired the firestar and wanted to try it out.  I took the advice that “a little goes a long way” a little bit too literally.  For the next batts I card using the sparkle , I am definitely going to use more of it!

Violet batt

The finished yarn only has very suble hints of sparkle.  The undyed milk fibre that I carded into the batt gave the yarn a “tweedy” affect.  The final skein is super soft and squooshy.  I have already cast on a hat – top-down this time so I don’t run out and end up with another neck-warmer! 🙂

The skein weights 37g and is 120 yds of 3-ply (chain-plyed) about a sport weight in thickness.

Points:

1 point – dyeing the wool

1 point – carding

3.5 points – 360 yds of singles (120 yds x3)

1 point – plying

6.5 points = Total

 

About Julianna

Spinner, knitter, fibre-lover :)
This entry was posted in Dyeing, Spinning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Violet Handspun Yarn

  1. amy j says:

    So pretty I don’t even mind being knocked into third place – well not much anyway!!! Gorgeous Julianna, and I love the drum carder shot too!

  2. ematiszdesigns says:

    Ohh… sparkle eh??? I like sparkles!

    Beautiful yarn!

  3. marjorie says:

    Love the color. Very pretty dye job. And the spinning-wow. Inspiring

Leave a comment