Julianna’s New Design

Designing this pattern really stretched me out of my comfort zone and I’m so happy it did!

I’m grateful for this month’s challenge to design because it pushed me to design in a way I hadn’t before, to stretch myself as a knitwear designer and I now feel much more comfortable going forward with new ideas in the future.

This scarf (pattern still unnamed) is different from my previous designs in that it was a lot harder for me to figure out.  Part of the difficulty was keeping things simple!

My goals for the pattern were to make something that would showcase a single skein of sock yarn, would look great in a variety of colour options (solid, variegated, striping) and was more of a scarf than a shawl because that is what I prefer to wear.  I believe I succeeded on all counts!

To find out more about my design process for this pattern, check out my previous post.

I currently have some wonderful ladies test-knitting the pattern for me and I’m also working on a second scarf in a different yarn.  The pattern is being edited and I hope to publish it sometime next month.  This will be the first pattern of mine that I self-publish and I’m looking forward to that next challenge!

The yarn I used for this version of the scarf is Art-by-Ana‘s Sock Garden.

More details are available on my Ravelry project page.

Points:

4 points – 407 yds (88g Art-by-Ana Sock Garden)

1 point – simple shawl

1 point – stash

1 point – swatching

2 points – designing, writing up the pattern

x 2 points – May 2012 Monthly Challenge

18 points – Total

About Julianna

Spinner, knitter, fibre-lover :)
This entry was posted in Designing, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Julianna’s New Design

  1. ematiszdesigns says:

    I totally forgot how cut your bangs look!

    Also, I love the design and have put a huge dent into mine!

  2. annelise says:

    Youve got bangs!!!
    Love!

  3. amy j says:

    The scarf and bangs look fabulous! My scarf is into the decreases, I adore it! Both mum and Grandma were admiring it too, a proper hit in my household!
    Well done for pushing yourself out of your comfort zone for the design challenge missy, I took a tentative baby-step out of mine, than ran back under the duvet with someone else’s pattern for safety! 😉

    • Julianna says:

      Hey! Thank you, I can’t wait to see the progress on yours 🙂

      It will come, Amy! I think timing is a really big part of designing and sometimes things don’t work out right away and that’s okay! I’ve had plenty of designs not work out 🙂

  4. Pingback: My latest addiciton… | Knitters Rumble!

Leave a Reply

