Wool Scarves and Sun Dresses

Summer has hit Canada. And to be honest, I really don’t love summer. I don’t like heat and my hair hates humidity. Knitting in the summer isn’t easy either. Sweaty hands and overheating sure get in the way!

But I have actually finished something:

triangle scarf and bare arms!

Since I started my new job, I haven’t had as much time to knit. My bus ride is too short to pull out the needles and when I get home I am usually exhausted. I try to pick up my needles on my lunch break, but I usually get called away. Therefore I need something really simple. My addicition to bizarre shaping and garter stitch (not to mention my lack of brain power currently) led me to cast on Hitchhiker (Ravelry link) by Martina Behm (I know the blog is in German, but the patterns are available in English). I love her stuff! It’s so simple and awesome and easy to follow. I’ve knit 2 of these now and I love them both.

This pattern involves creating “teeth” by increasing and decreasing in a very Martina Behm kind of way. It’s really satisifying to watch the piece grow.

I really love how this turned out. I used a random self-striping sock yarn from my stash (I think it was Rico Designs Superba Print — which I’m not sure exists anymore.) The stripes are really short and I wasn’t sure that it was going to turn out but I like it. And it looks awesome against black — even with my silly little sundress!

POINTS:

scarf = 1

yardage 400yds = 4

stash = 1

TOTAL: 6.

Not too bad!

Love the way this pooled at the end!

The girls and I have decided not to set a June challenge for the Rumblers. We are all really busy (in town, out of town, guests, work, family stuff, general summer distractedness). I have decided, however, that I am going to challenge myself to finish everything on my needles and hooks before I cast on anything else. I’ve tried this challenge before and it has failed, but I have faith in myself this time.

I have 8 projects in the works (socks, 3 scarves, hat, 2 blankets, and a slip cover). Let’s see how many I can crack through in June!

What is your summer project???

 

About emilymatiszdesigns

Knitter. Designer. Custom order fiend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wool Scarves and Sun Dresses

  1. Julianna says:

    Hey! Great project – it ended up looking so cool in the self-patterning yarn.

    You look so cute in that dress 🙂

    I went out today for a photo-shoot of my FOs and the camera battery died! Will try again tomorrow.

    Good luck with your self-imposed challenge!

Leave a Reply

