Filling my head with sparkles….

You may not have noticed in the original May challenge post, but I’m the rumbler who doesn’t already have any designing under her belt. I’ve adapted other people’s patterns, and even free-form crocheted a Manatee, but I’m yet to make the step of writing down my ideas for others to share.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I’m selfishly squirreling away ideas,  not happy to let others play with them. I just tend to get carried away with a project, at which stage pens/notes etc go out the window (not literally!) and before I know it, I have a completed object which there is now way I ‘ll be spending the time reverse-engineering to get down on paper.

So I’m finding this challenge, more so than any of the others, um….challenging! I’m way out of my comfort zone…..and so, like any brave, mature woman who tackles life head-on, I ignored it and started spinning!

And as I spun one of the beautiful batts that Julianna made me for my birthday, the ideas started to flow….

While I was spinning, I had a new birdy visitor to my windowsill. The blue of the batt  mirrored Mr. Grackle with his shiny blue head…..and that bird’s sparkly golden eye led me on to a Van Gogh painting.

The wonderful ‘The Starry Night‘, with its deep blues and swirly golden stars. Incidentally, if you haven’t discovered the google art project yet, follow the link…..they have fabulously detailed images of iconic paintings, that you can zoom in on and explore in incredible detail. It’s mesmerizing.

Anyway the grackle/Van Gogh pairing led me to plying the blue with some gold thread, creating my own yarn inspired by these images. Check out the sparkly wonder:

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, the next stage is to design something using this yarn and the swirly images of Van Gogh’s painting. Currently I’m leaning towards a cowl or hat…..who knows where I’ll end up. With luck I’ll have it done by the end of the month so I can claim my points, and wear it to the Van Gogh exhibition when it arrives in Ottawa on the 25th. Wish me luck!

About amy j

temporarily retired at 32, motivating myself to get off the sofa with a series of challenges...
This entry was posted in Designing, Spinning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Filling my head with sparkles….

  1. Julianna says:

    Very cool concept and the yarn turned out really amazing!

    Thanks for introducing me to the google art project, I hadn’t heard of it before.

    Are you giving yourself points for the yarn or waiting for the final project?

  2. ematiszdesigns says:

    SO PRETTY!!!!

  3. harpo716 says:

    pretty pretty yarn there Amy! can’t wait to see what you make with it

Leave a Reply

