Blueberry Swirl Handspun Yarn

Going out of my comfort zone and spinning this yarn woolen-style was a challenge for me.  It took me a long time to get the hang of spinning woolen and before this, I had only really done it for short periods of time on sample-sized yarns.

I think the reason it has been so hard for me to learn to spin this way is that in order to do it successfully you have to give up a certain amount of control.  Letting the twist into the drafting zone without stopping it by pinching my fingers goes against everything I’m used to doing in my spinning.  Even when my mind says “Do it!” my fingers didn’t want to obey.  I am now able to “let go” and do just that but I’m not yet comfortable with it.

Blueberry Swirl roving

Blueberry Swirl roving

This is one of the fibres I picked up at Belfast Mini Mills in PEI.  All of the spinning fibre available there is carded in their mill and is truly “roving” not combed top.  I have some other bags of more precious fibre (involving qiviut!!) in my stash from there so I thought I should start with this one first to get my feet wet with this particular type of fibre preparation.

Singles on the bobbin

Singles on the bobbin

The fibre is “Blueberry Swirl”, a blend of merino, baby alpaca and silk. It’s very difficult to get an accurate picture of the colour, which I would describe as a violet or purple that leans toward the blue side and also has flecks of white and the red-purple of blueberry juice.

I spun it a little more thick and thin than usual as I was still getting used to this style of spinning.

I ended up with about 274 yds of 2-ply yarn from the 4 oz. of fibre.  I’d say it’s a sport or dk weight with many thin spots and thicker slubs that add a bit of “character” to the yarn.

Points:

5.5 points = 548 yds of singles spun

1 point = plying

6.5 points = Total

 

About Julianna

Spinner, knitter, fibre-lover :)
This entry was posted in Spinning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blueberry Swirl Handspun Yarn

  1. ematiszdesigns says:

    I love the colour! Great job!

  2. amy j says:

    Oooh, yummy! Add woolen spinning to the list of things you need to teach me! You are so talented miss P! x

  3. sandyjager says:

    Beautiful! Well done!

Leave a Reply

