David Bowie vs Tom Cruise

Oooh, by the skin of my teeth I’m squeezing in one last game-knitting project. The wonderful hat Julianna made for me inspired me to erm….. copy her completely! (Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery as they say!). So, I used up some Art-by-Ana Sock Party I had in my stash, cast on and came up with this little beauty.

I followed the hat pattern from Lee’s e-book, casting on a few more stitches to accommodate that noggin of mine, and then worked on it during three fantasy-film nights with friends. We watched Labyrinth, Legend, and The Princess Bride (and I finished off the decreases with The Seventh Voyage of Sinbad).

It’s amazing how game-knitting can be such a social activity, even when you’re spending the evening with non-knitters. I won’t list out all the occurrences I used (you can find the lists on my project page here), but between ‘Inconcievable’, ‘Unicorns’ and the lovely Ludo, this hat is cable-tastic. And there is something truly wonderful about having a valid excuse to watch your favourite films specifically on the look out for gratuitous shots of David Bowie’s super tight trousers and Tom Cruise’s thighs!! Fabulous.  (Just on the off-chance he’s a knitting fan, I am definitely a Bowie girl, sorry Tom).

Lee’s pattern is fab, and combined with the gorgeous yarn, I’m really pleased with this project.

Points?

1 point – hat

1 point – 120 yds (240 yds held double)

1 point – stash

1 point – cables

1 point – first time knitting this pattern (it definitely won’t be the last!).

x 2 points – April challenge: game knitting = 10 points. Back in the lead, if only for a day or two…..I think I’ll treat myself to a viewing of Willow to celebrate……fair few tight trousers in that one!

Happy Sunday everyone. x

About amy j

temporarily retired at 32, motivating myself to get off the sofa with a series of challenges...
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to David Bowie vs Tom Cruise

  1. ematiszdesigns says:

    Love love love! I might have to have a bad movie marathon… I’m also a Bowie girl!

    • amy j says:

      Whilst I appreciate you are also a Bowie girl, I am very confused by your reference to ‘bad’ movies???!!!! Classics I tell you, classics!

  2. Julianna says:

    You are hilarious, Amy!

    I love the hat – it’s super gorgeous and the colour is amazing. Super cute on you!

    • amy j says:

      Thank you lovely, Especially cute is the holding of the book to hide the enormous spot on my chin – too many mini-eggs whilst watching films!!!!

  3. hmully says:

    LUDDDDOOOOOOO!!!!!

Leave a Reply

