Purple Socks

My knitting hasn’t been working out, lately.  It’s not that I haven’t been knitting, it’s just that my projects haven’t been turning out the way I want them to.  The choices I’ve been making matching patterns to yarn haven’t been the best so I’ve gotten a little bit discouraged.

When this happens the first thing I do is scurry around my apartment plucking various yarns from the stash and casting on a bunch of projects in a panic.  Then, when realization sets in that nothing I’ve cast on is really right, I cast on a pair of socks and work away at them while trying to figure out what to knit.

The Sock Knitting Channel

The Sock Knitting Channel

This pair of socks was knit using Patons Kroy FX yarn.  This yarn has a really cool marled gradient effect.  It’s made up of four plys, each of them slowly changing colours, giving the yarn a striped effect.  It’s pretty random so you can’t really predict what colour is going to come next.

Behind the scenes

Behind the scenes

These socks were knit in my usual way – toe-up, magic loop, one at a time tubes with an afterthought heel.

Ravelry project page.

Points:

2 points = socks

2.5 points = 232 yds

1 point = stash

5.5 points = Total

About Julianna

Spinner, knitter, fibre-lover :)
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Purple Socks

  1. ematiszdesigns says:

    I am still laughing about that photo shoot!

    I also LOVE LOVE LOVE those socks! I might have to cast some on (pretty sure I have some Kroy FX in the stash).

  2. Love the sock, beautiful color. Those photos are hilarious.

  3. sockmonkery says:

    I had a spot of yarn not working out with patterns choices a while back….ugh. You’ll get through it. Now where is that TV?? Awesome socks!

  4. I commented on rav that I love the photos. They make me laugh!!! Sometimes it’s hard to find a pattern that really clicks. Everytime I cast something off I have a brief moment of panic…what am I going to knit NOW!? usually I can sort it out though and I always have back up striped sock yarn supplies for those moments. I hate wandering my apartment aimlessly casting on all the things!

    • Julianna says:

      Yes, I am a professional at wandering around and making bad knitting decisions in a panicked moment!

      Sock yarn really saves the day at times like those. I need more stripey sock yarn, I think 🙂

  5. amy j says:

    They are fantabulous socks young lady! And I love the captions – ‘sock-knitting channel”! I find myself eyeing up places for future photo shoots now…..adventures to come!

  6. marjorie says:

    i like these socks!

Leave a Reply

