Cha-cha-cha-changes

Have you ever had a time in your life when everything gets thrown in the air, the pieces hit the floor in a mess, and you have to piece it all back together? Sometimes the pieces don’t fit, but you smash them together the best you can and move on? My life has been like that lately…

I lost my job (the best job I have ever had), I started a new part time job, and next week I begin a new full time job. All in the last 4 weeks. Starting over is always stressful, and yet sort of fun. Life is like that. So is knitting.

I’ve had a Art-By-Ana House Sock Party Cake and some purple Diamond Luxury Collection Foot Loose, in my stash for a while and I’ve tried to knit it into all sorts of things. First it was a sock (well, the cuff of a sock).

Perfect pair

Then is sat as a yoke of a sweater for almost a year.

Interesting thought...

Then is was ripped, and re-started into a Stripe Study Shawl by Veera Valimaki (oh the addiction I have to this pattern!)

Rainbows on a dreary day

I love it. This project (as funny as this sounds) has brought a lot of sunshine to my long, boring, non-work filled days.

I feel like this post is a confession of sorts. I’m a work-a-holic and I found it very difficult not to be working a 45 hour week. I know that realistically I was never really “unemployed”, but it was tough to go from working 5 days a week to 1 day a week. And now I will be working 5 or 6 days a week — something I am so looking forward to. I started this project during the last few days of work at the old job and I feel like it is sort of funny that I cast it off on one of my last days of not working a full time job. It has been a weird time in my life, but knitting (as always) has brought a sort of closure and comfort.

Ok, enough self-reflective weirdness, back to silly Em-ness!

POINTS:

Simple Shawl = 2 pts.

About 700 yds = 7 pts

Stash = 1 pt

TOTAL: 10 points!

BOOM! Just cracked 200 points!

And what is an Em post without a self-shot!

bad lighting 😦

Life is too short to be down! If something in your life (or your knitting) isn’t working out the way you want it — rip it out. Take a deep breath and pull the yarn off the needles. It is terrifying, it is stressful, but it is all worth it when the pieces fall into the right place.

 

 

About emilymatiszdesigns

Knitter. Designer. Custom order fiend.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cha-cha-cha-changes

  1. amy j says:

    I love it, i love it, i love it…….one of these days I’ll cast one on….I haven’t seen one I don’t love yet! Ack, hang on 200 pointz? AGH!!!! Stop typing, start knitting!

  2. jadedknitter says:

    1- congrats on clearing 200 points.
    2- I’m really starting to think that I can live with the asymmetry of that shawl because dang if that isn’t beautiful!

  3. harpo716 says:

    WOW! Em! that looks fabulous! …I am now fighting the want to cast one of those shawls on right now

  4. Julianna says:

    Great post, Emily! I love seeing the different projects you were planning for the yarn. I know what you mean when things just aren’t working out. Happens to me all the time!

  5. Katie says:

    beautiful work (and YAY about the full time employment)–a happy shawl for happy news.

Leave a Reply

