Spinning Milestone

I’m super proud of my latest handspun yarn!

It is a 3-ply fingering weight yarn spun from a braid of Turtle Purl (etsy, artfire)  hand-dyed Merino wool. The big skein is just under 400yds and the smaller one is just under 30 yds.  That’s 423 yds total, and 1,269 yds of singles!

Turtle Purl merino braid in "Caribbean" colourway

Turtle Purl merino braid in "Caribbean" colourway

This took me about two months to spin – working at it not quite every day and some days only for a few minutes.  I finally had the singles ready this weekend and spent the afternoon plying it while watching episodes of “The Knit Girllls”.

I was really happy that two of the bobbins were almost exactly the same length, only about 2-3 inches of wasted singles there.

The first bobbin I spun did have quite a bit of extra yardage on it (I guess I spun thinner to begin with and then thicker as I realized exactly how long this was going to take!)

So, with the leftovers from that bobbin, I navajo plyed a mini skein of striping yarn that co-ordinates with the big skein.

I can use it in case of emergency if I run out of the big skein when knitting.  I will try not to do that, though because the main skein of yarn has all the shades of blue pretty mixed up and the mini skein has clear sections of the lightest and darkest yarn due to the way it was plyed.  Maybe I can find a way to get the two yarns to work together in a project?

Points:

12.5 points = 1,269 yards of singles spun

1 point = plying

13.5 points = Total

Now I am one of those people who spin sock yarn (or finer!) as their default yarn!  If I keep it up, that is! 🙂

Do you have a default type of yarn that you spin?  Or work with if you are not a spinner?  Let us know about it in the comments!

About Julianna

Spinner, knitter, fibre-lover :)
This entry was posted in Spinning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Spinning Milestone

  1. ematiszdesigns says:

    OMGz! What are you going to create with it? I bet it would make a pretty lace shawl!

  2. amy j says:

    Wow wow wow! Julianna that is GORGEOUS!!!! Can you bring it out to play tomorrow, I want to smooch!
    As for projects, I’m with Emily, this needs to be round your face so we can have a big smiley photo shoot! It’s beautiful!

  3. Sue (craftyknitter7) says:

    Oh my friggen lord your handspun is gorgeous Julianna!

  4. Sue (craftyknitter7) says:

    I agree, close to your face, hat, cowl….or you can give it to me….hee hee!!
    You do realize I an stalking you three online now!!

    When can we meet and knit?

  5. Sue (craftyknitter7) says:

    Hey the time stamp is 1 hour behind…

    • Julianna says:

      Interesting… I’ll see if I can change that!

      Stalk away! lol… everyone does it.

      Hopefully see you at a knit night sometime soon!! 🙂

      • selma says:

        boy I want to be a stalker too!! that is positively heavenly. I am sure all the heavenly bodies would totally agree and want hats made of it!! (it’s cold up there you know). But really, it is making me drool more than I would like to.

      • Julianna says:

        Thank you, Selma! You are too sweet!

        ________________________________

  6. Natalie says:

    That is some *lovely* handspun.

Leave a Reply

