The bluest blue Monday….

I’ve been working on some long-term projects today, trying to finish off the Dude cardigan for my boyfriend ( a VERY late Christmas present!), and plying up some BFL that I dyed at the start of March and never got finished – missing out on those double dying points 😦 . Anyway, although I made substantial progress on both projects, neither is done quite yet, so I’m going to post about a project I finished back in February – but which then spent a fair whack of time winging its way to my Sister back in England……I’m afraid I refuse to spend more on postage than I spent on the yarn, so these went by the slow boat! Now that they’ve arrived safe and sound, I can post photos and tot up the points.

My sister chose the hat pattern, it’s an online freebie: Snowboarder Hat that rocks , which knit up ridiculously quickly with just over a skein of Punta Meritwist.

Once I’d made the hat, I searched for a pattern that I could easily adapt to include the same cable, and found the Tornado mittens.  A fab (free) pattern, which I’ll definitely make again. Even with the individual fingers these knit up quick, and the fliptops make them so versatile too.

 

Points for the hat: Accessories: 1 point.   Yardage: ~118yards = 1 point.                                     New pattern to me: 1 point.   Cables:  3 points. (It’s a braid cable if you’re interested).

Points for the mittens: accessories: 1 point.   Yardage: ~ 216 yards = 2 points.                         New pattern to me: 1 point.  Cables:  1 point (same as the hat, I had it memorised by the time I started the mittens!).

Grand total: 11 points.  Not enough to take me back into the lead, but I’m still fighting Julianna!

Rav project links: hat and mitts.

PS. Tomorrow is the last chance to enter our current giveaway! Don’t miss out on your chance to win.

About amy j

temporarily retired at 32, motivating myself to get off the sofa with a series of challenges...
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The bluest blue Monday….

  1. Julianna says:

    I love this set! The hat especially is the cutest thing ever!!

Leave a Reply

