Hand-dyed Star-Crossed

This is my second time knitting Star Crossed  by Natalie Larson and I love the pattern even more, now.

I actually followed the pattern exactly the whole way through, which is quite a challenge for me (because I love to mess around with things).  It’s especially challenging to do with this particular pattern as the suggested needle sizes seem insanely huge for the yarn.  It uses 6mm and 8mm needles on worsted/aran weight yarn.

If you are thinking of knitting it, just go with the pattern – needle sizes and all.  It works!  However, it will probably work best if you use something squooshy like the Malabrigo merino worsted that is recommended in the pattern.

It’s a quick, easy knit with a great result that I have no trouble fitting over my head and all my hair.  A great pattern for deadline gift knitting.

The yarn I used is a superwash merino worsted weight single from my recent kitchen dyeing weekend.

The colour was described by a friend as “happy” and I agree that that’s the perfect word for this shade of blue!

The yarn pic is a little bit darker than the real yarn.  The hat pics are a little more true to the real colour.

The only dye I used for this was blue food colouring drops.  It’s like magic!

Points:

1 point – hat

1 point – cables

1 point – stash

1 point – dyed by me!

1.5 points – 129 yds

x 2 points – March dyeing challenge

11 points – Total

There’s still time to enter our Sweet Paprika Designs Cloudy Day Collection Giveaway!  Just leave a comment on this post to enter.

About Julianna

Spinner, knitter, fibre-lover :)
This entry was posted in Dyeing, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hand-dyed Star-Crossed

  1. annelise says:

    That is a happy colour & blue is suppOsed to be a very ‘productive’ colour 2

  2. amy j says:

    It is beautiful, and I really must start using this as another gift pattern to add to the repertoire, lets face it everyone I know now has a cowl so I need to move on!The yarn is gorgeous Julianna, your dying is fab!

  3. ematiszdesigns says:

    I love the photos! You look so beautiful! And so does the hat!

  4. Erin-Kate says:

    So pretty! I love the color.

Leave a Reply

