Hand-dyed Thistle Cap

I had been eyeing this pattern since it came out (around Christmas?) and finally had a great yarn for it in my stash thanks to my recent dyeing experiments.

The pattern is the “Thistle Cap” by Liz Abinante.

The Ravelry link for the pattern is here.

I have been looking for the yarn that is light enough in colour to show of the awesome textured stitches and the light purple Blue Faced Leicester wool yarn from my last dye day fit the requirement.

This pattern was intended for an aran weight yarn, but I substituted a worsted weight yarn and played around with the numbers and added extra repeats.  My version is definitely more slouchy than the original.

I ended up with a hat that won’t really fit me (still too narrow on the brim, despite the added stitches).

Luckily, I know a bunch of people with less massive heads than mine!  I’ve just got too much hair, so I like my hats a little wider and deeper than a lot of people seem to.

It’s very hard to get an accurate photo of this colour, the above photos show it more accurately overall, but below is a detail shot for a close-up of the colour variation (mostly light purple with spots of light pink and blue) and the awesome stitch pattern.

Thanks so much to Cara for modeling this hat for me!

Points:

1 point – hat

1.5 points – yds

1 point – stash

1 point – hand-dyed by me!

1 point – cables

1 point – first time knitting this pattern

1 point – new technique to me (cabling without a cable needle)

x 2 – March dyeing challenge

15 points – Total

Video Tutorial for Cabling without a Cable Needle:

About Julianna

Spinner, knitter, fibre-lover :)
This entry was posted in Dyeing, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hand-dyed Thistle Cap

  1. amy j says:

    One point for new pattern to you? It’s a beauty Julianna, both the dye job and the knitting…..only sad that I also have a massive noggin too – and I don’t have the hair to blame!

Leave a Reply

