Recipe for spinning fun….

Take one cake of singles,that has been sat waiting for plying inspiration.

Add a new wheel – I finally caved and bought my own over the weekend. Its my new best friend and I spent far too much time with it since getting it home, sat in the sunshine, with the chickadees sat on the windowsill keeping me company:

Add a liberal dose of inspiration from seeing Julianna’s latest spinning efforts, and you have  the perfect recipe for an evening, Navajo plying until way past my bedtime!

On the left is a similar roving, on the right is my Navajo-plyed yarn – I love it!

Now I’m not skilled enough to attempt plying up a self-striping yarn yet, but may give it a go with the second roving. It is always interesting to see the very different results you can come up with, starting with the same base materials.

 

 

Such a variation of colour combinations within the plys. I have absolutely no idea how it’ll look when i knit it up!

Points?

I have 69 yards of 3ply, so just over 200 yards of singles =  2 points.

Plying = 1 point.

And this is my first Navajo plying, so 1 point for a new skill, a total of 4 points.

 

Watch this space for a guest post later in the week – from a new knitter!

 

About amy j

temporarily retired at 32, motivating myself to get off the sofa with a series of challenges...
This entry was posted in Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recipe for spinning fun….

  1. ematiszdesigns says:

    It’s so pretty! Almost shiny!

  2. Julianna says:

    Great job on the yarn! I can’t wait to see how it knits up, it’s going to look beautiful!

Leave a Reply

