Boyfriend Mitts

Alpaca Mitt

Mitts are not exactly “comfort knitting” for me.   They are a little more painful for me to create than hats or scarves or socks.  I think it has something to do with knitting thumbs.  Or maybe it’s because I have to keep notes so that I can make the same exact thing a second time.  Because why would I use a perfectly good already existing pattern when I could make something up myself? 🙂

alpaca mitten detail

I first fell in love with this simple, graphic pattern last year when I knit a two-colour version of it in a hat.  This pattern meets one of my current colourwork requirements: colour changes happen no more than every 3 stitches.  It is also a great pattern for playing with and combining colours.  I happened to have this yarn already in my stash and I had a lot of fun charting out the colour changes on graph paper with pencil crayons.

Mittens in the snowThe yarn I used is Mirasol Qina (80% baby alpaca, 20% bamboo) so the mittens are super soft and  really warm, too.

I have a number of other colours of this yarn in my stash to inspire me.

Points!

1 point – mittens

2 points – colourwork

1 point – design

1 point – stash

2 points – 200 yards

7 points total

If I were to knit these again, I would probably make a few minor changes (including not making two “right hand” mittens which I seem to always to manage to do!)  But I love them and so does the recipient so I would call this project a success.  I want to make more things like this that are a little bit out of my comfort zone.  (Ravelry project page link).

Mitts!

 

 

About Julianna

Spinner, knitter, fibre-lover :)
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Boyfriend Mitts

  1. amy j says:

    Damn it! I was still hoping Ryan wouldn’t like them and they’d be up for grabs! Now…..if your sister doesn’t like that hat (impossible!), I think Emily and I might have to duke it out!

    • Julianna says:

      Hahaha! The mitts are well within his “colour parameters” so he loves them!

      It’s true that my sis will love her hat… however, I am knitting a second one out of the yarn so maybe you will have something to fight over. Maybe we could make it a “special challenge”? 😛 I am envisioning some sort of knitting speed comp or something along those lines…

      ________________________________

  2. amy j says:

    As if you want to give it away!!!! Crazy lady! The second wave of colours are going to be stunning too…….excited!

  3. ematiszdesigns says:

    Love the boyfriend picture! Too adorable.

    And I should get the hat. It matches my winter coat!

  4. Those mits are so cool. The pattern looks quite intricate so you have done an awesome job! Lucky boyfriend.

Leave a Reply

