Can you guess what it is yet?

Before I share with you today’s points earner, I thought I’d add a little WIP update. My main project at the moment has got too big to leave the house, which is a shame as i do most of my knitting in the cinema, on the bus and on other people’s sofas. I am making progress though, and the boyfriend may well receive his Christmas Cardigan before winter is over – check out the headway I’m making on the sleeves:

I’m working on them two-at-a-time, using little plastic doodahs to carry lengths of the colourwork colour, to avoid massive tangles.

 

(I assure you that Doodah is a technical term!).

 

 

 

Not bad hey? Now, can you guess what today’s finished object is? Let me give you a few out-takes from my photoshoot this morning to help you out:

What do you mean you can’t see any knitwear?

Here’s some, sadly it isn’t the garment I’m supposed to be capturing:

 


 

 

 



 

Getting Warmer!

 

 

 

Nope? Well, this is the quality of photos you get at arms length on a cold morning…with the dog pulling on his lead dragging you in the other direction. Here’s the best of the bunch, and  my new hat!

Still not a great photo, but at least you can see the garment in question!

 

It is knit with 100% Angora (by Elsebeth Lavold), which has been overdyed with a variety of colours to create a gorgeously rich green yarn with hints of orange and purple.

I made up the pattern as I went a long, so the ribbing is a random-twisted rib, with unequal blocks of stitches. I increased heavily at the top of the ribbing, and the rest of the hat is stockinette, with patches of pattern using eyelets. Simple, but I love it, and am now working on some matching mittens.

Points? A solid 4 in total. 1 for a hat, 2 for yardage (191 yards), and 1 for designing it.

Which means I’ve hit my century! Hoorah! Hmmm…. I may have to treat myself to a cupcake on the way to work. x

About amy j

temporarily retired at 32, motivating myself to get off the sofa with a series of challenges...
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Can you guess what it is yet?

  1. james says:

    Poor Jasper….you pair with all these hats, mits and jumpers. I will try and make jasper something for spring.. if u cud get his measurements that’d be great. P.s. the only time I tried knitting it was an awful mess. But now I have a reason to try harder 🙂 x

  2. doodah is an extremely technical term that you can spell with or w/o an ‘h’ & with or w/o a hyphen:
    ‘doo-da’-looks & sounds better with an ‘h’. if u want less emphasis on the syllables, use only one o & no h

    • amy j says:

      Indeed, ‘doo-da’ seems frivolous to me, and the importance of the gadget is definitely emphasised by the additional ‘h’. Don’t get me started on oojamaflip and thingamyjigs though.

Leave a Reply

