Mitts fit for a King…

CHECKERS

… See that. I made a Checkers joke! hahahaha! …

 
I’ve been dating my boyfriend Kirk for over 8 years (is it called ‘dating’ when you have been together that long?). In that time I’ve knit him about 10 pairs of mittens. They are usually black and plain and very boring. This year when he admitted to me that he had lost the mitts I had made him 2 winters ago, he told me that he would like red and grey this year. He also told me that didn’t care what they looked like, as long as they were warm…
 
I liked this challenge. I decided on (after several hours of humming and hawing) Miski from Mirasol. It is hard to tell from the picture, but the dark yarn is a  really deep charcoal grey. I figured that the baby llama wouls be soft enough and yarn enough for Picky Kirk. I thought about stripes, I thought about holding the two colours together. I thought about a complex colour work motif. Then I settled on checks. When we first started dating, I knit him a blanket (complete with a contract that if we broke up soon after, I would get the blanket back). It was a huge red and black checker board. Hence these mitts.
 
POINTS:
Mittens = 1pt
170-ish yards = 1.5pts
design = 1 pt
colourwork = 1 pt
 
TOTAL = 4.5pts!
 
It is a very good thing that they are way too big for me, or I might have to steal them!
About emilymatiszdesigns

Knitter. Designer. Custom order fiend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mitts fit for a King…

  1. Julianna says:

    Beautifully done! Does he love them? I would! 🙂

  2. ematiszdesigns says:

    He does! I just hope it stays cold enough for him to wear them!

  3. amy j says:

    Oooh, I want them too!!!!
    And a word of warning Emily, 5 hours in the Emergency Room makes for big progress on a trillian!

  4. The mittens are very nice Em. Did you put a string on them so he can’t lose them?

  5. Ann from KFI says:

    Cool mittens! Checkerboard patterns are great.

Leave a Reply

