Whale spotting in Ottawa

What is that mysterious creature on the horizon? Diving in the snow?

 

Yes you’ve guessed it, it is another fish hat! This post sees my eight and ninth contributions to the fish hat world, and my last for the forseeable future!

When you knit a pattern this often, you start to play with it to keep your interest. In this case  I played with colour, creating stripes with the left overs from my lanesplitter skirt:

And texture, playing with ribbing and short rows to add a hint of ‘whale’ to the regular fish:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One has been gifted already, and is much appreciated, the other is winging its way to England as I type (never heard of flying fish?! – sorry!).

Points I here you shout?

Hat – 1 point,   Stash – 1 point,  Yardage – 1.5 points = 150 yards.

Total 3.5 points per hat = 7 points.

Ravelry project pages: Stripey, and whale.

What will I do on my hiatus from knitting  fishy creatures ? I have requests for viking hats (with beards), Moomins,  and Spock ears, so never fear – my quirky quota will remain high!

About amy j

temporarily retired at 32, motivating myself to get off the sofa with a series of challenges...
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whale spotting in Ottawa

  1. Julianna says:

    Hahaha! They are so great 🙂

    The colours in the stripy one are wonderful and the whale one is the cutest thing in the world!!

Leave a Reply

