Cables-a-go-go

This is the first of the two big-pointers that I had on the needles, I can’t believe it’s finally done! I cast on last June, in a pedalo on a sunny lake. Finally finished yesterday, getting up early to finish up the neck so I could wear it to work – avoiding the slushy icy puddles on the way!

This is by far the most challenging project I’ve tackled, and I admit to being a little intimidated by the pattern to begin with. It’s a Penny Straker pattern, called the Shalor Pullover, which I eventually sourced from a yarn store in Bloomfield, ON. Apart from the photo on the front there are no pictures, everything is written out, including the three cable patterns – no charts here. Thankfully, despite there being a 4-row, 8-row and 20-row repeat on the cables (so the whole pattern only cycles round to the beginning every 40 rows!), the knitting quickly becomes quite easy to read, and I only had to frog back a couple of times when my cables went wildly off course.

It fits me perfectly, and I admit it was a hell of a wrench to let it go. But the recipient had chosen the yarn and pattern himself, and has waited (almost) patiently for a long while now – I only hope he loves it as much as I do!

Right, lets check out the points tally then (fanfare please!):

Adult sweater – 5 points.

Yardage – 7.6 skeins of Cascade 220 = 1760 yards = 17.5 points.

Swatching – 1 point. I’m normally lazy with swatching, but this was too big a project to foul up!

New pattern to me – 1 point.

Cables – 10 points.  I discussed this with the girls, as the cables themselves weren’t too complicated once you got going, but they made me see sense – the volume of cables has got to count for something!

Grand total: 34.5 – whoop whoop, into the lead!!!! I’m sure that won’t last with monthly challenges with multipliers kicking in February, so I’m going to enjoy my little victory while I can…..off to dance round the house!

NB. you can find the Ravelry pattern page here, and my project page here.

About amy j

temporarily retired at 32, motivating myself to get off the sofa with a series of challenges...
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cables-a-go-go

  1. Julianna says:

    You did an amazing job on this one! Congrats on taking the lead 🙂

  2. Pingback: The making of a manatee….. | Knitters Rumble!

Leave a Reply

