Unsupervised spinning

There are three very good reasons why I’ve been playing on the spinning wheel this morning:

  1. The inspirational handspun I’ve been seeing lately, both on this blog, on ravelry, and at work. So many pretty colours, so many different things to try. It was only a matter of time before I got sucked in!
  2. On Saturday I was gifted not one but two lots of fibre to play with! Some gorgeous vivid pink BFL, dyed by my good friend Ana; and a skein of BFL dyed by Julianna and Amber – very similar colour way to the thrums in my winter mitts.
  3. What I should be doing this morning is seaming a sweater, and frankly there is a fair chance that the bathroom will get cleaned, I’ll hoover and clean my toenails, rather than face that task!

Anyway, I wanted to get some practise in before playing with the yummy gift fibre. The last time I spun on a wheel was June 2010, so the meagre skills I did gain are definitely rusty. I spun up every spare pouch of fibre in the house, and then plyed everything together.

Now this probably ignores all spinning rules, but as I am so inexperienced I have no idea what those rules are yet, so just went with the colours I liked together and let the wheel turn. The result:

The dark brown is superwash merino.

The cream is organic merino.

The light brown is a merino, alpaca and mohair blend.

The blue/grey are the left overs from my thrummed mittens.

This photo is pre-washing, the skein is now hanging up to dry, but I was too excited to wait til then to share!

So, pointswise we have:

Yardage – 2.  (106 yards plyed, so ~210 singles).

Plying – 1 point.

Total: 3 points.

About amy j

temporarily retired at 32, motivating myself to get off the sofa with a series of challenges...
This entry was posted in Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Unsupervised spinning

  1. ematiszdesigns says:

    So tempted to pull my spindle out…

  2. amy j says:

    Do it!!!!! Come join the spinning party!

  3. ematiszdesigns says:

    I took out the spindle, but I don’t have any roving. Guess I’ll have to pick some up tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

