Pastel Merino Handspun

Not my usual colours

Handspun merino in pastels

This is a three-ply organic merino wool that I dyed (before spinning) in quite subdued pastels.  Not my normal colour choices at all!  I’m usually drawn to darker/brighter/more saturated colours.  However, as I was finishing it up I thought it would look great used in stranded colourwork in contrast with a much darker yarn.  I will have to find something that will work for that in my stash or dye some up!

This yarn was sitting on the bobbin in the process of being plyed forever.  I don’t even know how long.   I decided to clear the bobbin and ply the rest of it and now the bobbin is free so I can work on other spinning projects – yay!

Just after I skeined this yarn, it looked like a fingering/sport weight in thickness.  Merino really does have a tendency to bloom and plump up (in knitting and spinning) so I wasn’t too surprised to see that after washing the guage is probably more like a dk/worsted weight.

As yarn grows in width, it shrinks in length.  This means the yardage I calculated on the niddy noddy is probably overly generous compared to the final yardage after washing, but that’s what I’m going to use to calculate my points 😉

Pastel handspun merino

Pastel handspun merino

Points:

5 points = Yards (520 yds of singles, 173 yds 3-ply)

1 point = Plying

1 point = Dyeing

7 points = Total points

About Julianna

Spinner, knitter, fibre-lover :)
This entry was posted in Spinning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pastel Merino Handspun

  1. amy j says:

    So pretty Julianna…..could this be the colour-work portion of next months challenge?!

    • Julianna says:

      Thanks! That is a possibility. I had something else in mind but I’m still undecided. I don’t know what to pair with this handspun yet. Suggestions are welcome!

  2. Annelise says:

    very pretty! reminds me of julianna’s daydream

Leave a Reply

