Check out these fly points!

I am the first one posting a finished project (or a FO for those of you who like the knitting blog abbrevs.)! It’s hard to believe that I am the first one to finish something. I’m the starter. I like to cast on. I like to watch the stitch pattern develop in the yarn. I don’t really like to finish.

But here’s my latest finished item:

Kinda want to keep it!

I created this for my brother’s 30th birthday (it is at the end of the month and I have to get it in the mail. Another personal design (and yes, I will be working on writing this one up).

 Yarn used:

Main colour: Galway by Diamond Yarns colour number 689.

Contrast colour: Cascade 220 Wool Heathers colour number 2441.

Points awarded: 6

Hat = 1pt

90 yards used = 1pt

stash yarn = 1pt

designing = 1pt

cables = 1 pt

colour work = 1pt

This hat was knit flat and seamed together. I finally perfected seaming, using mattress stitch. I learned how to seam out of a vintage book I own (Reader’s Digest’s Complete Guide to Needlework), but here’s a great video to show you how to do it yourself:

Mattress Stitch

I think that Mattress stitch is the best skill to learn. It did take me some time to perfect this skill. I used to avoid all seaming at all costs. I converted all patterns into the round. I hated the finishing process. Now I love it! It has also opened up a world of colour work opportunities (as I have yet to figure out Intarsia in the round as of yet).

I’m not going to lie, I think that I need this hat in pink and black!

Ok ladies! I’d love to see what you come up with!

LOVE!

~emily

About emilymatiszdesigns

Knitter. Designer. Custom order fiend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Check out these fly points!

  1. Julianna says:

    Awesome! I love it so much. Do you need a test-knitter? 😛

Leave a Reply

