Magdolna

It is finished!

HAT!

Our May Challenge was to design something. I designed this hat! I’ve been working on writing, knitting, and test knitting for over a month. And now it is here! You can buy the pattern HERE (Ravelry link. Don’t have a Ravelry account? Just leave a comment and I will get in touch with you).

I’m so proud of this hat. Sometimes when I design I get sick of the project. I usually end up knitting quite a few items before the pattern is ready to release. This time I only knit 2 and I plan on starting another very soon!

I also decided to change the pattern name. Orignally I had named the pattern Magda, but I choose to use the Hungarian version — Magdolna, my grandmother’s actual name. I think she would have liked that. I’ve been thinking about her a lot lately. I always do in the summer. I have very fond memories of helping her in the garden, picking flowers, shelling peas, and sitting on porch.

I’ve been wondering what her life must have been like when she was my age. I wonder how she must have felt, living in Hungary, surviving after the war, being married, trying to rebuild her life. I wish that I had asked her.

Ok, enough reflecting! Let’s talk about this project!

Cinch top

This hat uses DK weight yarn, I used something random and blue that was hiding in my stash. I love it. I can’t wait until the weather turns cold and I can wear it!

POINTS:

hat = 1

150 yards = 1.5

stash yarn = 1

designing = 4

lace = 1

total = 8.5

I can’t explain how proud I feel about this pattern. I think it is a pretty clever little hat and I can’t wait to make one for all the women in my life!

 

 

About emilymatiszdesigns

Knitter. Designer. Custom order fiend.
This entry was posted in Designing, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Magdolna

  1. Sandy says:

    Very nice, Emily! I’m sure your grandmother would be thrilled to have it named after her. Life in Hungary is…interesting! ;-)

    • ematiszdesigns says:

      I hope you are having fun in Hungary! I am so jealous! I am saving my pennies, I really want to go again!

  2. Julianna says:

    It looks so great, Emily! Congrats on releasing the pattern.

    I’m pretty sure you don’t need a Ravelry account to buy from Ravelery pattern stores.

Leave a Reply

